Friday, 7 July 2017

WBC offers Diamond belt to upcoming Super Series.

The World Boxing Council (WBC) have shown their huge support of the upcoming World Boxing Super Series by awarding its most illustrious prize, the WBC Diamond Belt to the winner in both the Cruiserweight and Super-Middleweight tournaments. The bracket-style elimination tournament features half a dozen world champions and three former champions as well as a number of highly ranked contenders, all putting it on the line in pursuit of universal recognition as the top man in their respective division..
Comosa's head man, Roberto Dalmiglio, is thrilled at how the elimination tournament has been received so well by federations, fans, media and fighters. “We are thrilled that the WBC honors the tournament with the Diamond Championship, their biggest prize. We´re in for a lot of exciting fights and this is a real honor. We look forward to also working closely together with WBC and its President in order to bring the sport forward inside and outside the ring.”
In the first season of the Series, 16 elite fighters – eight super-middleweights and eight cruiserweights – will battle out a bracket-style elimination tourney. In both divisions, there will be four quarter-finals (September / October 2017), two semi-finals (Jan / Feb 2018) and one final (May 2018), making for a total of 14 quality fights. The winners will both receive the prestigious Muhammad Ali Trophy. The quarter-finals will be set during the live Draft Gala at the famed Grimaldi Forum in Monaco on Saturday, with the top seeds (determined by the Comosa Board) selecting their opponents from the unseeded competitors.

Confirmed Cruiserweights (8 of 8)

Oleksandr Usyk (12-0, 10 KOs), WBO World Champion
Yunier Dorticos (21-0, 20 KOs), WBA World Champion
Murat Gassiev (24-0, 17 KOs), IBF World Champion
Mairis Briedis (22-0, 18 KOs), WBC World Champion
Krzysztof Wlodarczyk (53-3-1, 37 KOs)
Marco Huck (40-4-1, 27 KOs)
Dmitry Kudryashov, (21-1, 21 KOs)
Mike Perez (22-2-1, 14 KOs)

Confirmed Super-Middleweights (7 of 8)

George Groves (26-3, 19 KOs), WBA Super Champion
Juergen Braehmer (48-3, 35 KOs)
Erik Skoglund (26-0, 12 KOs)
Jamie Cox (23-0, 13 KOs)
Callum Smith (22-0, 17 KOs)
Rob Brant (22-0, 15 KOs)
Avni Yildirim (16-0, 10 KOs)

No comments:

Post a Comment